June: Bath FoodCycle impresses in the kitchen and an emotional goodbye!

Hello FoodCyclers!

Success and celebration! 

Last week we had a visit from our local Environmental Health Officer who surveyed our session and quizzed our Hub Coordinator, Sarah. The kitchen team were incredible as ever and really impressed our visitor. He inspected our processes, safety and cleanliness and awarded us a prestigious 5 out of 5 on the Scores on the Doors system. To put this in context; Food Hygiene scores are published (http://ratings.food.gov.uk) and many of the best restaurants and cafes don’t get awarded such a high score! Thank you to everyone who works hard in our kitchen every week, this is an impressive achievement and one we share with every member of our kitchen team; whether they were present this week or not. Well Done everyone!

Remember to sign up on the rota for the next few weeks and while you are on there check out the shiny new FoodCycle site at  http://foodcycle.org.uk/

Good Bye from me! 

This will be news to some but not too all… I am leaving the FoodCycle team! I am on the final weeks of my count down until my departure to a remote area of Zimbabwe at the beginning of July. I have been selected to lead a team of volunteers in a development project for Progressio; an international development charity. I joined Bath FoodCycle last summer and have loved being in the role of Volunteer Manager. I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has been involved; the awesome and dedicated hub leader team, everyone who has helped with fundraising and of course to the fantastic session team – chefs, community participation team and drivers! Many of you will have already met Alex who is stepping up from Volunteer Coordinator to Volunteer Manager and if you haven’t I’m sure you will at a session soon!

Shameless plug… I am fundraising before my departure and as part of this I have committed to shaving my hair into a mohawk! If you would like to donate and vote for me to go ahead with my challenge (there are a few other people who are also doing challenges) then head to https://mydonate.bt.com/fundraisers/alicehooper1

Alice voting

Handing my soapbox over….

It is with great happiness that I introduce one of our founding hub leaders, Alexa! A regular session leader and head chef; she will be the new voice behind the newsletters, keeping you up to date with the Bath FoodCycle goings on. If you ever have any suggestions for things to include in these newsletters, Alexa would love your input! Good Luck keeping up the high standard I have set for you, Alexa… big shoes to fill and all that!

I have loved working with all of you and have been inspired by how many people give up their time to keep this project going. Find me on Facebook or LinkedIn (Alice Hooper) to keep in touch!

Signing off for the last time,

Alice x

Leave a Reply

